World Cup qualifiers: Neymar scores as Brazil keep slate clean
Richarlison opened the scoring just after the hour when he latched onto Neymar's cross and sent a powerful finish past Ecuador goalkeeper Alexander Dominguez. The hosts were awarded a stoppage-time penalty when Gabriel Jesus was brought down by Angelo Preciado, reports Xinhua.
FIFA WC qualifiers: 'India to draw on 2019 experience vs Qatar'
The Sunil Chhetri-captained India will play Qatar (June 3), Bangladesh (June 7) and Afghanistan (June 15) in the combined qualifying tournament. "We were motivated to do better. We were frustrated after the match against Oman [India lost 1-2]. We wanted a better result from that match, but we did not get it. So, the pent-up motivation and frustration showed against Qatar." said Borges of the match in 2019.
FIFA WC Qualifiers: Thapa confident of India doing well
The Sunil Chhetri-led Indian team will play its opening game against Qatar on June 3, followed by matches against Bangladesh and Afghanistan on June 7 and 15, respectively. "We understand that Qatar are eagerly looking forward to the match. But we know that we will try to do well on the field. We don't want to be disappointed. We are not there to make up the numbers. We are confident in our abilities and we are taking it one match at a time," said Thapa
FIFA under-17 women's WC to be held in India in October 2022
"The announcement of the dates for U-17 Women's World Cup India 2022 marks a fresh beginning for the tournament. The LOC is carrying on the work that had already begun with the previous edition. As the Covid-19 situation improves, we look forward to restarting all the legacy activities that have been planned, and to the growth of women's football through this tournament," said AIIF general secretary Kushal Das.
FIFA suspends Pakistan Football Federation
FIFA issued a statement on its website stating, "The situation was prompted by the recent hostile takeover of the PFF headquarters in Lahore by a group of protestors and an alleged decision by certain individuals to remove the FIFA-appointed normalisation committee of the PFF led by Haroon Malik and to hand over the leadership of the PFF to Syed Ashfaq Hussain Shah."
FIFA announces 10 host stadiums for 2023 Women's WC
The other stadiums that have been announced as host venues are Hindmarsh Stadium (Adelaide), Brisbane Stadium (Brisbane), Dunedin Stadium (Dunedin), Waikato Stadium (Hamilton), Melbourne Rectangular Stadium (Melbourne), Perth Rectangular Stadium (Perth), Sydney Football Stadium (Sydney) and Wellington Stadium (Wellington).