karnataka-assembly elections 2023
karnataka-assembly elections 2023

Karnataka Assembly Elections 2023

Congress to hold Karnataka legislature party meeting on Sunday, decision on CM likely
Karnataka Results: Congress returns to power after 10 years, ruling BJP decimated
Newsmen News Desk -
Voters decisively backed the Congress, providing the grand old party with much-needed momentum ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The BJP conceded defeat after Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai stated that his party could not make the mark, despite the efforts of everyone, including the prime minister and party workers.
Karnataka polls: Kumaraswamy wins but son Nikhil loses
Hussain polled 72,898 votes and Kumaraswamy secured 61,692 votes. BJP candidate Gautham Gowda managed to get only 10,870 votes. This is the second defeat for Kumaraswamy. His mother Anita Kumaraswamy represented the seat earlier.Karnataka Congress President D.K. Shivakumar had appealed to the voters to support his party.
Karnataka elections: Cong leading in 114 seats, crosses the magic figure
As per the Election Commission, Congress' vote share is currently at 43.2 per cent in the southern state, whereas the BJP stands at 36 per cent.
Congress widens its lead to over 82 seats in K'taka
The Congress was leading in regions considered as BJP strongholds. The Congress party candidates were in three constituencies of Dakshina Kannada district which witnessed revenge killings. Congress managed to win only one seat in the last elections and BJP won seven seats.
Karnataka Hectic activities in Congress camp; high command ready with '50:50 formula'
Meanwhile, sources revealed that the high command is ready with a '50:50 formula' for the post of Chief Minister. According to sources, Opposition leader Siddaramaiah and Karnataka Congress President D.K. Shivakumar are the prominent contenders for the post of the Chief Minister.
Mallikarjun Kharge, Sonia Gandhi to decide on CM post: Shivakumar
Speaking about "power sharing" between him and Siddaramaiah, Shivakumar told mediapersons: "The decision of Mallikarjun Kharge, Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi is final on this matter." He further said: "I don't have a belief in exit polls. According to me, we will win 141 seats. Our surveys have collected more samples than the exit poll agencies.
Karnataka polls: Congress, BJP vying to contact winnable independent candidates
As per sources, the Congress has already approached S.I. Chikkanagoudar of Kundgol constituency in Dharwad district. There is a direct contest between Chikkanagoudar and BJP candidate M.R. Patil. Acting on reports of Chikkanagoudar's possibile victory, the Congress has already invited him to join hands with the party.
One of the BJP workers will become Karnataka CM, says Shobha Karandlaje
When asked whether she will become Chief Minister if BJP wins the state assembly polls, Karandlaje told reporters that there is no question of her returning to the state politics, adding that, "I have got the opportunity to work with Prime Minister Narendra Modi. I am happier there."
No question of alliance with JD-S, will win 146 seats: Shivakumar
Talking to reporters after some post-poll surveys, after the voting, indicated a hung Assembly, he said: "I don't believe in the numbers shown in the post poll surveys. As I have said, I am committed to my statement of Congress winning 146 seats in the elections."
Karnataka polls: 'Rocky Bhai' Yash says politicians, parties should do their work
Speaking to reporters after exercising his franchise, Yash said "it was his right and responsibility to vote". "I have exercised mine. Every voter should come out and vote, that is more important," he said. Asked why he did not take part in campaigning, Yash said that this time he did not feel it was interesting and for that reason he did not step out to take up campaigning for political parties.
Five leaders who played major role in Congress' election campaign in Karnataka
From manifesto to aggressive campaign, all of the points highlighted by the grand old party in the state gained the immediate attention of the people of the southern state. But behind the successful campaigning in the state, party leaders like G. Parmeshwara, party state in-charge Randeep Singh Surjewala